Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware

Axlink bus is dead?

I have pulled a serial cable of a component (the other side was attached to an AXC-232 card) and the netlinx master did a beep and rebootet. I have never had such a behaviour. Now the Axlink bus is dead, no device on the bus blinks, no TP responds. The master responds fine though and is able to reboot and download the program, but the AXlink isn't operational anymore! The master still blinks Link and Status green LEDs. The green LED on the card server card in the ACCESS cardframe lights constant!?

Anyone have a suggestion what I might do? I have a NI-700 master with associated AXCESS cardframes and other AXB devices and everything was working for a long time. I have swapped the CS card in the cardframe and also other cards but nothing. The AXlink bus is ust dead and no AXlink devices shows up in Netlinx Studio when I refresh the system!

Comments

• ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    I can see an RMA in your future...
  • bobbob Posts: 296
    But how can an intactive serial control cable when pulled kill the bus? Is it something on the cardframe side holding all the the cards, or the NI-700 master itself?
  • HedbergHedberg Posts: 671
    Disconnect the Axlink connector from your NI700 and observe the green Axlink light. It should be blinking steadily. If it is not, there is probably something wrong with your NI700. If you have a good blink on the NI700, connect up exactly one Axlink device directly to the NI700 and see what happens. Hook up a touch panel that you are confident works, and see if it shows up on the NI700 Axlink bus. If that one doesn't work, try another Axlink device. If none of your Axlink devices work when only one device is on the Axlink, probably your NI700 is not working correctly. Otherwise, test out the devices one at a time till you find the offender.