Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion
Options

OMG, CV5 connected using 8723 as ethernet?!

hi pros,

i am a newbie engin and i would like to ask a question.

the project currently i involved which are using NI-4000 and CV 5 panels.
however it was using CP4 when it was designed and wired, so CV 5 can only using ethernet then i try to still using the the wired 8723 and connect to the RJ45 connector with foot 1,2,3,6 for data transaction.

However it is acting strange, some of the panels are working just fine but others even tho the wires are connected, using the wire checking tools are checked fine, and the panel is working fine when pug in the hub with patch cord.

distance to the master, the one is working is about 50m and non-working one is about 80m
for other room, the 2 workings are about 20-30m and the non-working one is about 40m.

just strange

The Panel's ethernet is still not working ! we are furstrated by this already and seeking for any help, any opinion that can help us!

please kindly help us for this !!! thank you.

Comments

• Options
    Running Ethernet over anything but properly terminated CATx Cable is not recommended, the specific twist and conductor lengths are tightly specified.

When you say the cable runs test fine with a cable tester, is this a Ethernet LAN tester or just a basic CAT5 cable tester?

If you connect a Laptop to the end, does the laptop obtain a network connection correctly?

I know its not what you want to hear, but you should recable the job using the correct cable.
  • Options
    travtrav Posts: 188
    Eeeep

Not to be a party pooper but as Jim said, you really need to recable, I'm sure it bells out fine, ie the continuity is there pin for pin, but if you can a 'Certification Meter' over it it would be All Aboard the Fail Boat time.