Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion
Options

Extended wireless coverage

I have a customer who needs wifi coverage at a building about 150 to 200 feet away from their house. It will be used for master to master communication, receiving camera images and also for internet access.

There is wireless access at the house but I need to extend that wireless network to the outlying building.

Have any of you folks ever set up long range wifi similar to this, and if so do you have any recommendations on which equipment to use? I've looked at several antennas and bridges but I have no experience dealing with those products or the companies that manufacture them.

Comments

• Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    Bigsquatch wrote: »
    I have a customer who needs wifi coverage at a building about 150 to 200 feet away from their house. It will be used for master to master communication, receiving camera images and also for internet access.

There is wireless access at the house but I need to extend that wireless network to the outlying building.

Have any of you folks ever set up long range wifi similar to this, and if so do you have any recommendations on which equipment to use? I've looked at several antennas and bridges but I have no experience dealing with those products or the companies that manufacture them.

We have put up WIFI networks in boat marinas and other such things. You can get a YAGI antenna. It is essentially a hypercardiod patterne antenna that really focuses the signal in one general direction. The inverse is also true. It acts as a lense to see the far side transmissions better.

I'd higly recommend getting a professional quaility WAP to do this. The higher end Aeronets by Cisco are great.
  • Options
    Thanks for the recommendation.

I assume then that I can connect the YAGI directly to a WAP at the house and then use a wireless bridge at the other end with another YAGI attached?
  • Options
    Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917