Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Modules & Duet Modules

Duet and RS232 Control of Marantz SR8500 Receiver

I hope this message is in the right place.
I'm still very new to programming AMX and I'm hoping for some expert advice.

I'm trying to program a Netlinx NI-3000 controller to work with a Marantz SR8500 Receiver.

I've downloaded the duet module provided by AMX for the Marantz SR8500 Receiver and while I've been able to get the virtual device to recognize when I send it a command in Netlinx Studio and have it send feedback, I'm not able to get the receiver to actually do anything, like, turn on!

To clarify what I mean a little bit: if I, for example, send the pulse channel 9 command to the virtual device (41001:1:1) it correctly sends the command string "@PWR:0$0D" to the actual device at 5001:1:1, it just doesn't actually toggle the power to the receiver

Now, I know that the receiver must be in standard and not economy mode for it to accept serial commands when it's powered off, which it is. I know the cable I'm using is good because I made it about 3 hours ago. It only has pins 2, 3 and 5 wired and I used a tester to confirm that pins 2, 3 and 5 were all in good working order.

Some strange behavior I noticed in the Notifications window in Netlinx Studio is that the Duet Module appears to be sending the same four commands over and over and over again, about every 5 to 10 seconds

"Command to [5001:1:1] - [SET BAUD 9600,N,8,1 485 DISABLE]
Command to [5001:1:1] - [HSOFF]
Command to [5001:1:1] - [XOFF]
String To [5001:1:1]-[@PWR:?$0D]"

and it repeats.