Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Master/Slave question I believe - How To

First off I'm new to programming and this question may be basic but here goes. I have a NI-3000 that I currently have controlling DVD,TV,Squeezebox, Cablebox, video server and Matrix (component). I am very proud to have gotten my 1st program and TP's working with much help from various people and forums. I recently got a hold of an Axcent3 controller that I would like to put in the Loft that will control the TV, DVD, VCR from that location using the IR ports but would also like to control the NI-3000 to switch the Matrix and control the Video server and Squeezebox from the loft location. I know this is possible but how exactly to do it I'm not sure. My initial guess was to have my wired TP in the loft go to Axlink on Axcent3 and also have an axlink connection to the NI-3000. In that case would the programming for the local stuff be done on the Axcent3 and the other stuff on the Netlinx? I am lost, HELP!

Thanks in advance,

Paul

P.S. I already have a component Balun run to the loft from the Matrix Switch Downstairs.

Comments

• DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    You have to put the Axcent3 in slave mode, see tech note 158 for how to do that. Then you connect the Axlink buss on the Axcent3 to the Axlink on your NI. After that, the ports work like they were native to the NI. The only caveat I would add is that I have noticed it's difficult at times to load IR files to a slaved Axcent3. It can take several attempts for them to go through.
  • thepainterthepainter Posts: 69
    Thanks so much Dave for the quick response. I'll go ahead and try that and see how it works. Once done I would go ahead and just program through the NI-3000?

Thanks,

Paul

Edit -