Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion
Options

Universal PSX-2 iPod Dock

Universal has an iPod dock that has me excited but frustrated. The dock has a great GUI through component video and it has IP connectivity. It also has some great navigational capabilities. The frustrating part is that Universal won't release the protocol unless a programmer commits the time to create a module to sell (or give away.) They say that it will take 2-3 man-months of time to write the module. Controlworks wrote a Bleeptron PSX-2 module that they sell for $350. I wrote some usable code for the DLO Homedock Pro and have been using it for a couple of years but I can no longer find them to buy. Philips bought DLO but nobody at Philips knows anything about them.

Has anyone done anything with the PSX-2? Would anyone want to write a module? I know that I wouldn't have the time right now and I'm not that experienced at IP communications. I would be happy to let an interested programmer know who to talk with at Universal.

Comments

• Options
    yuriyuri Posts: 861
    give me a psx-2 ipod dock and i'll program it :)
  • Options
    bwestlakebwestlake Posts: 82
    Thanks Yuri. Anyone else?
    yuri wrote: »
    give me a psx-2 ipod dock and i'll program it :)

I appreciate your reply. I was surprised that you were the only one. The PSX-2 is the best potential iPod solution for integration that I have seen. IP communications, great GUI, component video, and great search capabilities. iPort doesn't have a dock that will do GUI and serial together. Does anyone have iPod dock options that I'm not aware of?
  • Options
    Jimweir192Jimweir192 Posts: 502
    I had a long enquiry with Universal about this last year, the end result of which was they wouldn't release the protocol under any circumstances. If I recall the product was pretty new at the time, or even not shipping.