Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

MAC Address 'unknown'

I just noticed that the MAC address of a controller is 'known' and displayed on RMS as long as you do not engage the security on the Master. Once engaged the MAC becomes 'unknown' Does anyone know of a fix, as I would like to view the MAC address of the Masters in RMS so I can match them to my UTK info.

Comments

• annuelloannuello Posts: 294
    Gday Thomas,

From what I understand, the RMS modules on the master attempts to telnet into itself after a reboot to obtain the MAC address (probably by parsing the result of a SHOW SYSTEM or GET IP 0 command). If your security settings are not the default settings the introspective telnet login fails. I've heard that in future versions of RMS (presumably RMS2020) the modules will be duet, which will allow the module to get such information from the master "natively" without having to telnet into itself. Not being a duet programmer, I don't know how possible this is.

As for a fix, you would probably have to write your own "introspective telnet" module which somehow knows the correct credentials for your system. (I'll leave that to your imagination!) You should then be able to register an additional parameter with RMS which is used to store the real MAC address.

Roger McLean
    Swinburne University
  • Thomas HayesThomas Hayes Posts: 1,164
    I did turn the security on and selected 'telnet', as you and I are well aware that these university kids are pretty smart and will try a number of ways to hack into any system they can.
  • annuelloannuello Posts: 294