Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

easy way to update processor clock from web

Hi

Can anyone please point me in the right direction for a simple way to update the processor clock via the internet / time server ?

I have very little experience in IP communications .. normally i would control a device RS232 / Ir
and this time i need 25 processors to be able to show the correct time without user intervention

thanks

Comments

• Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    two basic ways.

1) use the built-in clock manager. You can access it easy enough from the web page on the NI's IP address, port 80. It uses the standard NTP standard.

2) (and this is what I do) you can scrape a web page and/or RSS feed. Then feed this time/date into your master in code by the CLOCK command.

You could also do a third option and roll your own NTP module. I almost did this myself one time but its such a verbose conversation and I quickly got bored and frustrated with the process. The protocol is great for getting your clock set to a pretty accurate clock down to within a few milliseconds. But, it not at all helpful with Daylight Savings.
  • Options
    great stuff

I will look into using an RSS feed then ..

thanks
  • Options
    PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966
    palopalo78 wrote: »
    great stuff

I will look into using an RSS feed then ..

thanks

Have a look at the built in clock manager. It's nice and straight forward to set up.
  • Options
    PhreaK wrote: »
    Have a look at the built in clock manager. It's nice and straight forward to set up.

But not accessible from code unfortunately. I could handle daylight savings much more easily if so. Otherwise I'm remoting into 50+ systems whenever the government decides to change DST dates.
  • Options
    TurnipTruckTurnipTruck Posts: 1,485
    If you have a pre-duet master (NXC-ME) clock management can be done with something like i-TimeManager
  • Options