Home AMX User Forum AMX Design Tools
Options

Page Tracking?

Hi there

I am just learning how to track pages on G3 panels with Axcess... Really cool!

Do anyone of you have an Axcess code piece for page tracking to serve me as an example, or have any advice for me? I have already activated all panels to send page track info back to the controllers. I have 2 CA10 and 3 VPNs and in order to save bus bandwidth, I would like to send mp3 tag and other info to each panel only if the panel is on the appropriate page.

I already have a ZONE and DECK variable in my code, but guess that I need to expand them to arrays to hold the ZONE and DECK selections for each of the panels, or is there a better solution for this?

Many thanks in advance!

Greetings,
Bob.

Comments

• Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    If you are going to use page tracking this way, you have to keep in mind it's not an instantaneous update - since it's a string coming in to the master from the panel, it is necessarily much slower than a channel event would be, especially after parsing. This can create timing issues if you aren't aware of it. Also, keep in mind the panel going offline is going to change your page without any such tracking string going through - I use the ONLINE and OFFLINE events to track this, and send a page flip if necessary to make sure my variable agrees with what is on the panel.

As far as the state variable itself, I generally make a set of arrays. One array holds all my panels, and I use this in my DATA_EVENT for the page tracking and STRING events. I use GET_LAST to determine which panel the event applies to. Tehn I have another array of the same dimension for the tracking variables, and use the value from the GET_LAST to set the index of the variable I am changing.
  • Options
    bobbob Posts: 296
    Dave, could yuo please post some sample code? Thanks!
  • Options