Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Duet - Cost & Experiences

I thought I'd throw this question out there again. Has anyone done anything that successfully does something with Duet? Any comments or positive things to say about it yet, or is it incredibly premature?
I'm an independant programmer & do not have a sales rep or contact. What does the Cafe Duet package go for? Does anyone out there have an extra copy they want to unload? Thanks!

Comments

• DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    The core Duet functionality is in your master code, and you can use Duet modules with any master that has the appropriate firmware. Cafe Duet runs in the $900 range last I looked, and an upload won't help you - you need a valid license key to run it and they are non-transferable. It may even be hardware based - I haven't got it yet, I've been waiting for it to mature a bit more first. This is all due to AMX's licensing agreements with Sun and the Java runtimes.
  • jjamesjjames Posts: 2,908
    Does anyone have a full list of what modules come with Duet? XML Parser? Calendar? What else maybe? I would think that the modules you could implement would pay for Duet in just a couple of jobs. Any ideas?
    jjames wrote:
    Does anyone have a full list of what modules come with Duet? XML Parser? Calendar? What else maybe? I would think that the modules you could implement would pay for Duet in just a couple of jobs. Any ideas?
    One of the selling point is that you are supposed to be able to use readily available existing Java applets with Duet, so theoretically you could download non-device specific things like XML parsers, e-mail applets, etc. The only requirement is that they comply with J2ME and not have any unsupported calls (I understand Duet is a subset of J2ME).
  • AdaptelAdaptel Posts: 41
    A little more info needed.