Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

RS 232 to control Optoma EX765W

hi this is my first time controling a device using RS232, I dont know if theres a problem with the device or am i doing the wrong thing.. I have NI-2100 and Optoma EX765W connected via RS232 from Port 1 of NI-2100, i used RS232 cable that comes with the package of Optoma.

this is my source code, is there anything that i missed or done something wrong or should have done?? thanks..

DEFINE_DEVICE

dvNexia2 = 5001:1:1

DEFINE_START

SEND_COMMAND dvProj,'SET BAUD 9600,N,8,1'

DATA_EVENT[0]
{
ONLINE:
{
SEND_COMMAND dvProj,'SET BAUD 9600,N,8,1'
}
}

BUTTON_EVENT[dvMET13,1]

{
PUSH:
{
[dvMET13,1] = ![dvMET13,1]
SEND_STRING dvProj,"'~0071 4',$0D,$0A"
}
}

Comments

• Options
    AuserAuser Posts: 506
    arvinnino wrote: »
    I have NI-2100 and Optoma EX765W connected via RS232 from Port 1 of NI-2100, i used RS232 cable that comes with the package of Optoma.

this is my source code, is there anything that i missed or done something wrong or should have done?? thanks..

A couple of things I would personally do differently:

1 - Use a custom made cable with just pins 2, 3 and 5 (ie. TX, RX and ground) connected. Molded cables usually have most if not all conductors connected internally which can cause communications not to work on Netlinx serial ports (which are far from a standard port).

2 - I don't like the look of using DATA_EVENT[0] to set the baud rate of the serial port. It would be better if you change that line to DATA_EVENT[dvProj].

3 - You don't need the SET BAUD send command in DEFINE_START

Importantly, is the control system TX light for the serial port flashing when you press the keypad button?
  • Options
    i double check the cable that i used and the pin assignment is conrrect so i think there is no problem with the cable.

where can i find the "control system TX light" ?
  • Options
    viningvining Posts: 4,368