Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Hex Codes in DATA.TEXT

I am writing a module to control a TagMcLaren DVD32R & AV192R via the 'TagTronic Bus' - this is a rs485 protocol built into all tag products.

I have no experience dealing with raw hex data and am struggling to work out how to best extract the data from the DATA.TEXT property.

When I switch on diagnostics for the rs485 port I see the following...

Line 31 :: String From [5001:4:1]-[$02$00$81$00$C1$80$02$01$FEx$89$E4$03] - 08:51:18

Message definition is...

Byte 1: STX
Byte 2&3: Sender Address
Byte 4&5: Target Address
Byte 6&7: Message Header
Byte 8&9: CRC
Byte 10: ETX

I have attempted to parse the string into a series of long variables i.e....

STACK_VAR LONG lSTX, lSender, lTarget, lHeader, lCRC,lETX

lSTX = GET_BUFFER_CHAR(DATA.TEXT)
lSender = GET_BUFFER_STRING(DATA.TEXT,2)

etc etc

Problem is that i receive the following error message in the diagnotics log...

(0011093491) GetString - Error 1 Tk=0x0001

I have read some of the amx tech docs & other postings in this forum and can't quite decide what i'm doing wrong or how to resolve it.

Should I be using longs to take in this data or another data type? I have also tried using the ATOL funtion to assign the variables but again I receive errors in the diagnostics log.

From what I understand the $ notation for hex is an AMX thing which means the string I see from the device is already going through some type of translation in the netlinx master. trouble is I cannot work out what its doing...

An issue i'm sure I will have once this is resolved is that the sender & target addresses need to further break down into 3 values, 1st 4 bits are unused, 2nd 6 bits is the group address & 3rd 6 bits is the device address. I am presuming I handle this by doing an 'X = Y << 4' ??

Swimming well out my depth here...help!!!

Regs, Phil

Comments

• Hex Codes in DATA.TEXT