Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio
Options

'GET BAUD' problem

Hello brothers! I'm newbie here and hope my question do not seem stupid:) Please excuse me for my bad English too.

In the manual "NetLinx CardFrame,Control Cards, and NetModules NXC, NXF, and NXM Series" on the p.10 says: "Command GET BAUD Get the RS-232/port’s current communication parameters." And "Device sends the response out the Master program port."

I tryed to execute
SEND_COMMAND 5001:1:0,'GET BAUD'
in the terminal window but did not get answer.

Why?..

Does anybody know how to get rs-232 settings in the NI-**** modules in other ways?

Thanks
Alex

Comments

• Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    Make a DATA_EVENT for the device, and put this in the STRING handler:

SEND_STRING 0, "DATA.TEXT" ;

The data is sent to the master, not the terminal. This redirects it to your terminal as well.
  • Options
    Thank Dave, your advice helped me! Now, I'm sure in settings of comm port.
    A little notice - this command send text to diagnostic window, not to terminal.
  • Options
    alexanboalexanbo Posts: 282
    If you turn on diagnostic Strings for whichever port you want to see the info on you can see the baud rate without having to code anything.
  • Options
    frthomasfrthomas Posts: 176
    I guess "msg on" would allow your terminal to see diagnostic messages.

And I am curious as to why you need to check the baud rate? Most of the time, I just set it whatever I want it to be, and ignore which value it is actually set to... Just curious.

Good luck and have fun with Netlinx

Fred
  • Options
    To alexanbo and Fred.
    Useful info, I did not know it. Thanks.

To Fred.