Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Switch Case statement Doubts

I am facing a compiler error when i run the commented sections of the code in the axi file which i have attached in this post.

I want to run a switch case where each case will be integer values or char values in a structure array. I am getting the following errors, if anyone has a workaround i will be thank full . If else statements compile fine.

ERROR: C10591: CASE value is not a constant

Comments

• MorrisMorris Posts: 21
    Hi,

Im no guru (really Im just beginning but I'll have a crack). It seems to me that the value after the CASE keyword needs to be a constant not a variable as it is in your file. I believe this is the same as the switch-case in Java.

Morris
  • DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    Yes, that's exactly it. The identifier on the CASE statement needs to be a constant.
  • You could use Select / Active to do what you want:
          SELECT
           {
    	    ACTIVE(GET_LAST(nHVAC2FKLRBtn) == nSetpointTemp):
    	    {}

ACTIVE(GET_LAST(nHVAC2FKLRBtn) == sRoomTempAddress):
    	    {}
           }

I'd probably stick GET_LAST(nHVAC2FKLRBtn) into a variable first so it's not re-evaluating every time.
  • Thanks for all the inputs. If you open the axi file i have attached, instead of passing values to the each case, i want to pass them via a structure so that if the values change in future, i can change in only one area.

For example , CASE uHVAC[2].nSetTemp: . This case is same as CASE nSetpointTemp:, which compiles properly.
  • ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    I don't think it's a case of it compiling or not. It's a case that the value of a case 'whatever' needs to be a constant. I don't think you can change the values of 'whatever' on the fly. You can change the values in a select/active, however. A select/active is a slower process than a switch/case but you do get more programming flexibility such as the case of your idea.