Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion
Options

Vivitek Projector over IP?

Having to control a Vivitek projector that got substituted because of a discontinued model. I've found an RS-232 control protocol, but no mention of IP control, and I don't have a good way to run serial to it. It has built in network control for Cre$tron 'Room View' software, and I'm curious if anyone has ever run across any of these and had success in controlling them from AMX over IP? I guess worst case I have to buy an Ethernet-->serial box of some sort, but I'd rather not have the crew have to bring a lift back in to access it. I'm playing with the web control gui on it to see if I can write something to just power the thing on/off via html, but I have no experience controlling things in this manner. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Don

Comments

• Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    If this doesn't work for some reason perhaps you could use a IP to RS232 box and create a little wireless network connection with a cheap WAP. When it's all said and done it might not cost too much to do and even though much slower will still be plenty fast enough for Rs232.
  • Options
    Don DeLong wrote: »
    Having to control a Vivitek projector that got substituted because of a discontinued model. I've found an RS-232 control protocol, but no mention of IP control, and I don't have a good way to run serial to it. It has built in network control for Cre$tron 'Room View' software, and I'm curious if anyone has ever run across any of these and had success in controlling them from AMX over IP? I guess worst case I have to buy an Ethernet-->serial box of some sort, but I'd rather not have the crew have to bring a lift back in to access it. I'm playing with the web control gui on it to see if I can write something to just power the thing on/off via html, but I have no experience controlling things in this manner. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
    Don