Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads Tips and Tricks
Options

Communicating with modules: direct strings vs. structures with marshalling

Hi to all,
I would like to receive some hints from you about best practices of communicating with modules.

Preface: I am quite new to AMX, so I am surely a AMX beginner. However I have a strong background in Object Oriented Programming, especially with C++ and Java.
I am strongly interested on developing modular, reusable and maintainable code.

According to my knowledge, the best way to communicate with modules (sending requests, obtaining responses) is through virtual devices.
In this way, the external caller sends proper request strings to the virtual device and obtains the related response strings from the virtual device. The virtual device is a parameter of the module.

The main drawback I see on this approach (but is a matter of 'flavour' of course!) is that requests and responses are directly strings, hence the caller must properly construct the strings corresponding to the requests, whereas the module must parse them and prepare the proper responses a strings. It works, for experienced AMX programmers I guess this is the common way of work, and it's fine.

However in OOP I like to work with objects and using automatic mechanisms to convert objects to string whenever needed (in terms of plain strings, XML or JSON). As you know nowadays all 'traditional' programming languages have built-in or external libraries for doing this mapping/marshalling automatically.

Working with AMX & Netlinx and developing modules, I am thinking of using the bult-in marshalling functions (VARIABLE_TO_STRING, STRING_TO_VARIABLE) in this way:

1)the module works with a proper STRUCTURE which represents the requests it may accept and the responses it returns. For example:

DEFINE_TYPE

STRUCTURE myModuleRequest {
char actionRequest[100];
integer param1;
float param10;
}