Home AMX User Forum AMX Design Tools

TP Design 5 Disappointment

I've been using TPDesign 5 for a couple of years now and frankly I'm just not a fan. To the point where I hate switching from a project using G4 panels to one using G5 panels because of the software. Compared to TPDesign 4, TPD 5 lacks intrinsic features for many button and text properties, feels sort of 'kludgey' when setting page properties and button images, is un-intuitive when handling the images by adding unnecessary steps, and is generally a displeasure to use. And I know I'm not the only one who has had issue with the lack of icons and the "feature" of having 5 images per button.

I realize there are differences due to migrating the G5 panels to the newer Android OS, but that being the case, why strive so hard to make TP5 behave so similar to TP4? I understand the need for familiarity, but this tool is not backward compatible across other product lines so why not make a software design tool that accentuates new design features instead of showing us what we can no longer do on the new and improved product? I can't be the only person using TPD4 to make G5 panels then converting them using the G4 Panel tool, can I?

Frankly when I am asked by designers, sales staff, clients, and end users which panels they should get, I point them to the G4 panels. Why make my life any harder than it needs to be?

I wonder if I'm alone in this.

Comments

• ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    I can see the light at the end of the tunnel... and it's obviously a train... They are phasing out the G4s. The day will come.

I find it interesting that a large majority of the integration firms that hire me are avoiding the G5s. In fact, last year I can only think of one G5 panel in a project. Although they are kind of getting up to parity with the G5s having the same command set as the G4s, it's still not quite there yet, which still makes me run my GUI for both panel types and that's a royal pain.