Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

DEFINE_FUNCTION

Hi, can someone link me to an example of this ( or post one ). I have never used one before. How to employ it also escapes me.

Thanks

Best Answer

Answers

• PatGPatG Posts: 42

Excellent thanks

Here is the example given in the course material, all of which makes sense to me, except when calling it I'm not sure what sBuffer is referring to. I know I need the return but I don't get what this sBuffer is which is wherein the return would reside I'm guessing

Sorry here is the image url https://imgur.com/a/BGbmegi

• viningvining Posts: 4,368

sBuffer for this checksum function should contain all those hex values but this snippet doesn’t show where or how that gets populated.

• HARMAN_ChrisHARMAN_Chris Posts: 597

Pat - the screenshot is from the overview video and is more of a static example. Did the content that followed the overview, and gave real examples inside Netlinx Studio help clarify this concept for you? Be sure to watch the concept review video at the end of the section which will walk through the completed exercise and demonstrate one way to solve for the task.

@HARMAN_Chris said:
    Pat - the screenshot is from the overview video and is more of a static example. Did the content that followed the overview, and gave real examples inside Netlinx Studio help clarify this concept for you? Be sure to watch the concept review video at the end of the section which will walk through the completed exercise and demonstrate one way to solve for the task.

I did a few times but the example they use in that case is quite a bit different from the one I posted. I have a method that works but it's no where near as elegant as I think this could be. For example I have a device the will return different length strings depending on the command so I have a function for each which is like

DEFINE_FUNCTION CHAR fnChecksum6 (CHAR cPROJ_BUFFER[]) //Checksum for projector strings
    {
    STACK_VAR CHAR Result