Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Having trouble combining touchpanels

I'm working on a system with 2 ELO touchpanels driven from TP/I4 devices. But I can't seem to get the panels combined. Here are relevant code snippets:
DEFINE_DEVICE
dvTP1 = 10001:1:0
dvTP2 = 10002:1:0

DEFINE_VARIABLE
DEV dvPanels

DEFINE_COMBINE
(dvPanels, dvTP1, dvTP2)

DEFINE_EVENT
button_event[dvPanels,39] //projector power on
{
  push: 
  { 
      on[dvPanels,39]
      proj_power = 1
   }
}

The above code does not work at all as written. But if I comment out the DEFINE_COMBINE area and change the panel references to dvTP1, it works on that panel just fine.

Remember, I'm a newbie at this stuff, and I'm probably making some simple mistake - do I have the DEFINE_COMBINE in the wrong place or something? ?ny help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Comments

• jjamesjjames Posts: 2,908
    I haven't combined devices in the longest time, but I think somewhere in code - probably in the DEFINE_START - you'll need a COMBINE_DEVICES. Highlight the word DEFINE_COMBINE in NS2 and hit F1 - this will bring up the help section on combining devices and it'll explain better than I.

On a side note however, have you considered using DEV arrays rather than combining your devices? There plenty of talk here on the forums on combining devices versus DEV arrays. Check out the usage of DEV arrays. One advantage to the array approach is that you can still control the devices individually.

Here's how you'd do it:
    DEFINE_DEVICE
    dvTP1 = 10001:01:00
    dvTP2 = 10002:01:00

DEFINE_VARIABLE
    VOLATILE INTEGER proj_power
    DEV dv_TP[] = 
    {
       dvTP1
      ,dvTP2
    }

DEFINE_EVENT
    BUTTON_EVENT[dv_TP,39] //projector power on
    {
      PUSH: 
      { 
          ON[dv_TP,39]
          proj_power = 1
       }
    }

Though, I would change the feedback to take place in DEFINE_PROGRAM.
    BUTTON_EVENT[dv_TP,39]
    {
       PUSH:
       {
         proj_power = 1
       }
    }

DEFINE_PROGRAM