Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Best way for tuner channel display

Hey all,
I'm kind of new at this and I would like to know the best way to display current DSS tuner channel info on the TP and in addition giving feedback when the number buttons or channel up/down is pushed so the (faux) feedback is real time. Also, if a tuner channel is selected but not confirmed (by pushing enter) the channel display should revert back to the current channel. I am trying to work out a scheme with a variable, but I am having trouble. It is IR so no buffer for the tuner. This is kind of a novice issue, but I would appreciate any tips.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Spire_JeffSpire_Jeff Posts: 1,917
    In order to fake feedback of the tuner channel, you will need to do a few things:

1. Permit ONLY the AMX processor to control the sat receiver. This means hide it in a rack and lock it down.

2. You will need to create an array of ALL available channels.

3. You will have to ONLY send discrete channel changes, no CH+ or CH- IR codes. You can still have CH+/- buttons, but each push will have to send a complete channel (ie 005. 006. 007.... )

4. You have to remember to adjust the current channel based on favorite buttons and direct channel input and update the current channel accordingly so that CH+ and CH- work.

5. You have to remove ANY interaction with the guide on the receiver (unless you want to do A LOT of coding).

Optionally, you could provide a way to add and remove channels from the array (to deal with channel changes)