Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads Residential Forum

HVAC control with no stats?

Gentlemen,
my applogies for flooding the forum with newbie questions ( i did use the search option but didnt find anything on this) Im relatively new to AMX and have lots of questions. I hope i dont tick anyone off. Anyhow, is anyone controlling HVAC without using any stats- just direct from the HVAC system?
i have a project going and we didnt prewire for any stats. they are using a Carrier infinity system. Can i control HVAC directly and leave the normal stats in or am i in trouble here?
Thanks again guys.

Comments

• viningvining Posts: 4,368
    The Carrier Infinity system has its own proprietary stats but I beleive there is or will be a serial interface to connect with automation systems or so one of my guys recently told me. Check with the HVAC dealer and have them find out. I tried contacting Carrier directly some time ago and just got the run around and was finally told to contact the HVAC dealer who did the install to which I replied maybe I should just talk the builder and architect into specifying a different system that can be integrated.
  • jisaacjisaac Posts: 34
    Thanks vining,
    there is indeed a SAM (System Access Module) which will allow for 3rd party integration. Theres even a C******n module already available. I guess im headed towards a more philosophical question that provided this situation works out, why would i ever want to fool around with stats again? let the HVAC contractor put in the system with whatever stats he chooses, and just plug into the HVAC controller directly. Wouldnt this be cleaner, simpler and with less things to worry about? or am i missing something here?