Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads Tips and Tricks

PERSISTENT, VOLATILE and NONVOLATILE

Back when I took the programmer classes, I thought I was told that it was good practice to put VOLATILE in front of your variable declarations, but not necessary. The other option was PERSISTENT, which saves the value of the variable through reboots and power loss. Obviously, being a good programmer I normally put VOLATILE in front of my declarations. Well, today my understanding has changed. I was using a modified version of the Escient fireball module in which they left out the VOLATILE. As soon as I doubled up the module to support 2 fireball units, my touchpanels ceased to function properly. I telneted into the processor and did a SHOW MEM command. It showed my nonvolatile memory at -697,000. I knew right away that it was the fireball modules since I just doubled the instances.
I called to verify with AMX tech support before I started to change a functional module and this is where it was made clear that what I was told in class was slightly different than what the processor does. In fact a quick RTFM produced this result:
TFM wrote:
Non-volatile variables: A variable declared with the NON_VOLATILE keyword is stored in non-volatile memory. It will retain its value in the event of a system power-down, but is reset to zero if the program is reloaded. [BOLD]Unless specified otherwise, all variables are stored in non-volatile memory.[/BOLD]

Volatile variables: A variable declared with the VOLATILE keyword is stored in volatile memory and reset to zero after either power-down or reload. Volatile memory is generally faster and more plentiful than non-volatile memory. For this reason, you should use the VOLATILE keyword when declaring large data arrays where persistence of the data is not a requirement.