Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

help with conditional statement

I'm a newbie and I new some help to understand how to parse info from the device and use that info in a conditional stament. I'm working on a project right now where I need to now the input status of the display and change it to either the Tuner A for cable and the cameras modulated from channel 102 to 122 and Input 1 which is the component input. This is what I got and I would like to know if I'm in the right direction.

With the help of Danny which is a member of this forum that had help me to learn a lot I got this data event to get a variable(nTVInput) to track the input state of the TV.
DATA_EVENT[vdvTV]
{
    STRING:
    {
        STACK_VAR char sName[32]                                                // a temporary variable that only exists for the life of the data_event

sName = REMOVE_STRING (DATA.TEXT,'=',1)                        // assumes the command comes back as command=value, pulls off the command= and just leaves

// the value in DATA.TEXT
        SWITCH (sName) 
        {
            CASE 'ASPECT=' :            
            {
                nTVAspect = ATOI(DATA.TEXT) 
            }

CASE 'INPUT=' :
            {
                nTVInput = ATOI(DATA.TEXT) 
            }

CASE 'POWER=' :
            {
                nTVPower = ATOI(DATA.TEXT)
            }

}   

}

Then, If I were to use the value of nTVInput and nTVPower to track the status of the TV when I want to go to the camera in Channel 104 of the TV; I would have a Button Event to do something like this.
if (nTVPower)                                         // Power On

{

If (nTVInput = " 'Input-InpA,1' " )                // go to Tuner A

{

send_command vdvTV," 'XCH-104' "      // Gate camera

else

{

send_command vdvTV, 'INPUT-INPA,1'  // TV to Tuner A

wait 40

{

send_command vdvTV," 'XCH-104' "      // Send TV to Channel 104

}

}

}

else

{