Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion

Master to Master question

I'm building what is basically a super-"light" version of RMS for CGHQ, because RMS is unfortunately not within our budget. Basically I have a bunch of conference rooms with AMX masters in them, and I have a master on my desk with a touchpanel. The master on my desk has all the conference rooms in its URL list, and each conference room's code has dvMasterTP in it assigned to my base system, then some basic button presses and feedback for it. This way, from my desk, I can choose a room on my panel and control all the basic functions without needing to use G4 webcontrol or anything like that. My master also polls all of the rooms each night, gets a few variables from them (like current projector bulb life) and sends it to me in an email, so I get regular status updates on bulb life and whether or not devices in each room are giving off errors.

Right now, I've only got this set up for 12 systems. I'm about to put in 6 more that I know about and I'm hoping for another 5 soon after. This leads me to question how many connections my master can have the way its set up.

I don't need for any of my systems in the field to talk to each other, they all just need to talk to my master system. Will my master be unable to talk to more than 20 if I just keep adding them to my URL list on it? If I go to each individual master in the field and add the Master on my desk to it, will that let me talk to all of them even up to 40, 50 or more?

Or do I need to do something like what is found on page 211 of the current (2005) programmer handbook, which is termed "radical connection topology" . . .

I'm trying to avoid having to keep a written record somewhere of all of the connections, and go with something that will be easy to make sense of if I leave this position and somebody comes along behind me.

J

Comments