Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Recommendations for a newbee

Hi Everyone,

Just starting with AMX (and automation for Residential), I went to a couple of on-line training and red a lot of posts already.
I'm registered to the next AMX Programmer 1 in my region and while waiting, I'd like to get as much as I can on it.
My background is 17 years in computers and software as a developer, tech support, consultant.
Is there any materials (web sites, white papers etc) on simple solutions like automating a TV + DVD + Sound with example programs for NI 4000?

Anything is appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    As best I can tell, this forum is as good as it gets. If you have specific questions, by all means post them; but the best way by far is to wade in there and start writing code. You may not even know what to ask before you have gone that far :).
  • Options
    SensivaSensiva Posts: 211
    Read... ALOT!!

Adding to what DH said.. I suggest you Read and practice what you have just read.

As you are joining the next Prog1 training... reading AMX Programming introduction will be very useful before joining the session.

I don't know if I am allowed to send you these documents or not.. If someone responsible granted me in this thread, Sure I'll do.

I am really happy to you , I consider being in this career is the most awesome move in your life :)

Good Luck
  • Options
    go to the archive section and get the AXCESS programming tutorial. Helps with getting the basic concepts. After that, learning the Netlinx stuff is a walk in the park.