Home AMX User Forum AMX Technical Discussion

Communicating with Netlinx from a wifi enabled PDA device.

I?ve got a request to look into using a wifi PDA to control some aspects of a Netlinx NI3100 system. Basically the customer already has a TP (MVP8400) already but would like to be able to control a subset of the TP functionality from the PDA.
So I?m thinking this would involve writing a program for the PDA (probably in C or Java) that opens a TCP/IP connection to Netlinx and sends channel push commands, in effect emulating the actual TP, as I figure that would be the easiest solution. I guess the questions I have are how to go about this i.e.

1) To be able to emulate TP push commands I would need open a TCP/IP connection and use the ICSP protocol, right?
2) And if so are there any C/Java modules out there that I could use to do this so I don?t have to do the low level coding of ICSP of which I can?t seem find any documentation on anyways?
3) As a newbie I might be going about this all wrong and if so are there any better suggestions out there?

Any responses would be much appreciated,

J

Comments

• As an end user I cant give you all the correct info. I use this functionality from PALMVNC and VNC into my panels. It works but what i really want is functionality from either my old blackberry or my IPHONE...that would be the cherry.
  • jweatherjweather Posts: 320
    If the PDA supports VNC, you can indeed VNC to a G4 panel. If you're going to write a custom app for the PDA, you'll do better writing your own protocol and using an IP server on the AMX side, instead of trying to speak ICSP and actually emulating a touchpanel. The IP server can then process the incoming commands any way you want, as well as sending status information back.
  • The customer wants a different GUI to the TP so VNC is not an option for me. Granted it would have been a simpler solution...
  • ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    JMadsen wrote: