Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

Panel Commands

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to programming AMX, but not to programming as a whole, so I understand how things work from that end. Presently, however, I'm trying to do some testing in which sending button commands to some panels are involved - simple enough, right?

I'm running into the problem that when I use the following syntax:
SEND_COMMAND dvTPANELS[LAST_PANEL],"'@TXT',SOMEBUTTON,'Some Text'"
...It works just fine. However, when I do this:
SEND_COMMAND dvTPANELS[LAST_PANEL],"'^TXT',SOMEBUTTON,2,'Some Text'"
- that syntax does not work for me. Furthermore, I have the same problem when trying to use the ^BMF command to disable and hide some buttons.

At this point, I thought to myself that the syntax I was dealing with might be old; perhaps new commands use the "@" character. Problem is, when I went to find something new in AMX PI, I found nothing; not only that, but I couldn't even find the @TXT command in any of the Touch Panel documentation - which is the only command I can get working.

...Help! :)

Comments

• HedbergHedberg Posts: 671
    ...It works just fine. However, when I do this:
    SEND_COMMAND dvTPANELS[LAST_PANEL],"'^TXT',SOMEBUTTON,2,'Some Text'"

- that syntax does not work for me. Furthermore, I have the same problem when trying to use the ^BMF command to disable and hide some buttons.

I think I see the problem. Look very carefully at the documentation and you will see that the entire "Command" is a string. The 2 (and the commas around it), which indicates the state, needs to be a string as well. So, this should work:
    send_command dvTP, '^TXT-123,2,TEXT'

also this
    sSomeButton = "itoa(nButtonNumber)"

SEND_COMMAND dvTP,"'^TXT-',sSomeButton,',2,','Some Text'"

So, the use of the command is a little goofy in that everything, including the punctuation, needs to be part of the string, and integers need to be characters, not integers.
  • slip couganslip cougan Posts: 34