Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

variable use in DMS txt string

hello, this is my first time i programming a AMX controller

i am trying to put a variable text into a DMS keypad,

SEND_COMMAND dvpanel,"'^TXT-33,1&2',settime"

settime is a number 1 to 10000

also i try to get the "time" (hh.mm) into a txt string, with a update every minute

thanks

Comments

• You probably need SETTIME to be ASCII. So use ITOA() function. The TIME keyword in Netlinx already supplies time in ASCII format but it is HH:MM:SS. I would just do a wait 600 (that's 60 seconds) then do a left_string(time,5). I hope this helps.
  • Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    I might very well be mistaken but I thought there were built in time and date buttons. Is that not the case?
  • GermtGermt Posts: 10
    re
    Joe Hebert wrote: »
    I might very well be mistaken but I thought there were built in time and date buttons. Is that not the case?

no i try to set a text(variable) into a DMS keypad.
    I have a value from 1 to 10000, and i want to count the value on the keypad with +/- buttons
    the counting is not the problem but i want to see the value of this variable also on the screen.

i have.
    settime = 100
    SEND_COMMAND dvpanel,"'^TXT-33,1&2',1,settime"

but this put not the number but a letter into de txt button 33
    can you also tell me what the ,1, is in the sting ,1,settime"

i am also trying to set the real time on the keypad, but it is static when it is in the display

thanks, it's all new to me and i?m glad some is helping me.
  • viningvining Posts: 4,368
    Is this a MIO DMS or a old PLK DMS?
    vining wrote: »
    Is this a MIO DMS or a old PLK DMS?

it is a mio DMS 8button keypad
  • viningvining Posts: 4,368
    "'^TXT-<variable text address range>,<button states range>,<new text>'"

Assign a text string to those buttons with a defined address range.

Sets non-unicode text.

Syntax:

SEND_COMMAND <DEV>,"'^TXT-<vt addr range>,<button states range>,<new text>'"