Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

Initialization of LOCAL_VAR

Hi Experts,

I am new to AMX Programming.

I tried to define a variable as LOCAL_VAR inside the function and try to initialize it.

But NetLinx Studio prompt me an error saying that you can only initialize variable inside DEFINE_VARIABLES and DEFINE_CONSTANTS only ...

But NetLinx Language Reference Guide says that you can initialize the variable ... Check pages 11, 46, 47, 58 of the book and you will find the references for LOCAL_VAR. But when I tried to do that way Netlinx Compiler gave me an error C10213: Illegal Initialization for symbol ....

Can anyone help me with this ?

Regards,

MC78

Comments

• Options
    PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966
    Outside of the DEFINE_VARIABLES and DEFINE_CONSTANTS sections you have to declare the variable before assign it a value

For example:
    LOCAL_VAR MY_VAR
    MY_VAR=1

• Options
    But there is a problem ...

Thanks for your response ...

I understand you point that outside the DEFINE_VARIABLES and DEFINE_CONSTANTS you just put
    LOCAL_VAR MY_VAR
    MY_VAR=1

But then it will not serve the purpose of LOCAL_VAR (Static Variable)

Reason of LOCAL_VAR is, I want to retain its value till next use ... and as soon as it hit th MY_VAR = 1 it will reload with 1 ... and lost its previous value ...

So that doesnt serve the purpose of LOCAL_VAR ...

Please let me know if I am understanding incorrectly ...
    PhreaK wrote: »
    Outside of the DEFINE_VARIABLES and DEFINE_CONSTANTS sections you have to declare the variable before assign it a value

For example:
    LOCAL_VAR MY_VAR
    MY_VAR=1

• Options
    PhreaKPhreaK Posts: 966