Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio
Options

My first project...ugh

This is more a testimonial, but maybe it will be cathartic for some to read.

I'm pretty new to AMX and NetLinx. I'm a C# programmer by trade but have always had an eye on the A/V world. I graduated from film school in the mid-90's but slowly got sucked into programming over the years. I met a project manager at an A/V dealer over the last couple of months who got me interested in programming control systems. I like new challenges so off I went. I ordered up an NI-3000 on eBay and got it around Christmas-time. I ran through some Programmer I & II materials which I was able to scrounge together and got setup with AMX so I could take their online classes. I learned a TON pretty quickly.

I contacted my dealer friend to let him know I might be ready to start working a real project...I didn't want to sit back and analyze too long. Best experience for me is usually throwing myself into it. He had a job which another programmer was going to do the actual programming on, but I could shadow the job and at the end, test my code in the live environment. The job was pretty straightforward...

1 - NI-3100 Controller
2 - Mitsubishi WL639 Video Projectors w/ 2 inputs (PC & Tuner)
2 - Contemporary Research 232-STS Tuners
2 - Draper Screens
TOA A-9120S Mixer/Amp
NXT-CV7 Touchpanel (only one)

I had 10 days to put this together which, for a first project, felt like a tight deadline but I jumped at the chance to be able to connect to some devices. I probably spent the first 4-5 days figuring out how to put together a decent modular design w/ Netlinx. I was rolling my own modules so was using the protocol docs which I had pulled together on the web. The final 5-days I was trying to learn best practices (mainly from great advice and counsel of board members here! THANKS!). This included how to use virtuals, queueing, parsing buffers, etc.