Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

IP client question

I am fairly new to IP communications for devices. That being said, I have a question about the client/server relationship and how it pertains to my situation. Here is a rundown of what I am trying to do:

I have an NI-3000 master on a network with an Aurora Multimedi WACI Jr. that I am using as a web server for touch panel pages. I have a client setup in the master for receiving the command strings (telnet port 23) from the WACI, which get parsed out in my master to make thing happen with my devices. The client goes dormant in the master after 3 minutes of inactivity, at which point it will ignore any further strings from the WACI. To get it back in line I had a temporary function that issues IP_CLIENT_CLOSE(), a short wait, then IP_CLIENT_OPEN(). My solution was to basically force the client open with a timeline (90 seceond heartbeat) that sends a 'ping' to the WACI, which will then send a 'PONG' to the master. This along with some other code allows me to verify connectivity and keeps the port open.

My question is this, is it OK to leave that particular client open constantly listening for strings from the WACI? Is there a better way for the master to listen to the telnet port and open the client only when it sees something coming in?

Comments

• If you're using a client to connect, then sit and wait for data to come in from the device acting as a "server", then no - you'll want that connection open at all times. I would look into some kind of "heartbeat" message you can either enable on the WACI - something meaningless it can sent every minute to keep the connection alive - or a message you can send >to< it from the NetLinx for the same result. In this case, it would be something sent to the WACI that doesn't cause any change in the WACI, and generates a response you don't really care about or need...

- Chip