Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio

IP Control of a Device

I have spent 2 hours searching and I can't seem to find a comprehensive beginner's guide to control a device over IP. I finished P2 a few months ago and we just barely touched on this subject. I am trying to control both a surround processor and a projector with IP. How do I set up the communication for the devices? How do I define the devices? Where do I tell the master the IP addresses of the devices I am controlling?

I would really appreciate some basic example code of what I need to get started. Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• GarretGarret Posts: 27
    I'm quite new to this and last weekend went through figuring out the same thing. There was a forum post that helped me and this is what I got out of it. If I find the post again I'll link to it.

PROGRAM_NAME='VANTAGE'

DEFINE_DEVICE
    dvVANTAGE = 0:3:0 //VANTAGE SYSTEM ip device

DEFINE_CONSTANT //Constants for opening the port used below

CHAR sIPVANTAGE [] = '10.0.0.16' //The vantage IP address
    svPORT = 3001 //Vantage port number
    IP_TCP = 1 //this means be TCP instead of UDP

DEFINE_START //This is where I open the port so I can send strings to it
    WAIT 25
    {
    IP_CLIENT_OPEN (dvVANTAGE.PORT, sIPVANTAGE,svPORT,IP_TCP)
    }
  • Do you have to open a server?
  • DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    remeolb wrote: »
    Do you have to open a server?

Your device is the server, so you only have to open a client. Unless, of course, you are writing the device end too. You would only need to open a server if you are putting your master in a "listen" type of mode, and the devices are taking the initiative to connect to it.
  • HedbergHedberg Posts: 671