Home AMX User Forum AMX Resource Management Suite Software
Options

RMS Ent 4.1 and VMware

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone out there has noticed an issue with the RMS Ent license manager when running on a virtual infrastructure.

I've been running RMS Ent for a couple of months now and just after finally migrating all my legacy RMS 3.3 masters over, I found myself being booted out of the client and presented with:

"RMS License Problem Your RMS Server in not licensed.
Please contact AMX Customer Service for Support"

Upon futher investigation the licence manager revealed I had no licenses and when I tried to request them again, it was rejected due to activation lock criteria mismatches.

What appears to have happened was that the underlying virtual VMware infrastructure had migrated the RMS Ent server onto another blade which had a slightly different processor and it looks like the license manager noticed this and immediately shut things down. Migrating the server back to the original blade restored the licenses and a reboot of Tomcat allowed the Flash client to display a logon prompt once more.

Just wondering how many people out there are aware of this and don't realise that a background migration in the virtual infrastructure can lock you out of RMS without any warning. The whole point of running on a virtual infrastruction often is for resiliance yet this issue potentially undermines it and places you in a situation of not being able to monitor / control / schedule your AV infrastructure.

Even a scheduled migration looks a somewhat tedious process as in order to move the license you appear to have to raise a RMA, then e-mail various requests back and forth between the License Manager and AMX in order to temporarily revoke the license. Looks like there is potentially a way to do this automatically on-line but the documentation states to use the off-line method.