Home BSS User Forum BSS Archive Threads Discussion London Architect with Soundweb London
Options

How many volume controlled zones off of london?

I'd like to use the London equipment for a backstage and FOH paging system at our local theater. I was wondering how many \"volume controlled\" zones I can run off of one BLU-80/32? I'm looking for about 12 FOH zones and 18 backstage zones.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    scott180scott180 Posts: 80
    I'm not an expert, but here goes:

If you just have one page input, then you could have 28 separate analog outputs (zones) that the page could be routed to. (1 four ch input card and 7 output cards between the two BLU units)

Add cobranet output directly to cobranet equiped amplifiers, like CTs series from crown, and you could have another 60+ separate outputs (32 cobranet outputs per box but atleast one output would be used to transport the page mic from one box to the other)

Just my thoughts. Again, not an expert.
  • Options
    AndrewAndrew Posts: 4
    I'd like to place a volume knob in each of the zones. Aren't I limited by the number of control signals I can use for this?
  • Options
    rob birchrob birch Posts: 106
    Hi,

The answer is - 'As many as you want' It all depends on the design you put together.

Each BLU80 allows 32 cobranet channels to be output as well as 16 I/O cards in blocks of 4 (8x8,12x4,4x12)

So you can get one BLU80 16x0 and 2 BL32 0x16 to give you a matrix of 16x32. All DSP processing will be done within the BLU80 and then break out to the BLU32's. These will then connect to amplifiers over analogue.

The other option is to use the new BLU160 and 120 units that will allow a 128x128 way matrix if you need future expansion.

We have also done may designs using crown Cts 8200CN amplifiers that allow 200watts per circuit and you cobranet dirsctly from the BLU80 to the amplfiers.