Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

New DR 260 user

BERTBERT Posts: 2
Hi,

I'd like to share a little background information with you. I'm new to this fourm and I just purchased a new Drive Rack 260.

My wife is a mobile DJ, she plays mainly off a lap top and external hard drive with over 25000 songs at her fingertips. The music can range from country, southern rock, disco, beach, blues, even hip hop. She plays small clubs with up to two hundred people, and larger venues with up to two thousand people, lots of weddings, private parties and sometimes festivals.

Now a little about me. I'm the owner of a plumbing company, I have no formal music or sound management training. I set up her equipment for her, mingle with the crowd while she works and tear it down when she's finished.

Her equipment:

Lap Top With Sound Blaster Sound Card
Maxtor 300Gig Hard Drive
OTS DJ Software
Furman PL Plus
Numark CDN 90 CD Player
Pioneer DJM 3000 Mixer
Two Mackie SWA 1801 Subs
Four Mackie SRM 450's
Two Shure Beta 58A Mic's
One Sennheiser E845 Mic

The reason I've purchased the DR 260 is to hopefully be able to tweak the sound set up for different venues at which she plays, and also control the feed back that sometimes occurs. I choose which speakers to use based on the size of the venue she's playng and the number of people expected. I always daisy chain the sub's and high pass out the the 450's. Up until now, I've only had the EQ on the mixer and my ears to tweak the sound. I decided to add the DR 260 after talking to the sound manager of a local band. He felt like the DR 260 would address all of my sound management issues.