Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

New Drive RackPA fails first time out

So, here to for, I've used a dbx166, 223 xover, and dbx 31 band eq. I decided to plunge into the drive rack for A: less stuff in the rack, and B: the lure of RTA equing....so now I discover this forum and read posts that's its not a magic bullet...but that's ok and C: the ability to delay the mains when we use the folded horn subs for outdoor events.

I'm no sound man, I'm a musician in a small band that plays on weekends. So I get the drive rack, read through the manual, adjust everything until it sounds good, RTA auto-eq my practice room, adjust the compressors etc..it's a piece of cake! Super easy to do and our modest PA never sounded so good! It really sounded awesome. I was very very impressed.

We had a couple practices with the full indoor PA (Peavey SP2xs, JBL 418s, Yamaha P7000s, Yamaha mixer) and it was far and away the best sound we every got out of our rig!!!! The bass and kick were lean and mean but not boomy etc, the vocals were clear and not raspy...everything was great.

I get to the show Saturday night, we set up, I power up the amps and go out front to listen to the drums...NOTHING. I see output on the mixer meters, but nothing on the driverack meters, I change programs to another one on the driverack, I see the meters on the driverack move but nothing is making it to the amps, I swap cables between driverack to the amps, still nada...I couldn't get it to work so I went straight out of the mixers into the Yamahas (fortunately I can cross them over with the controls on the back) so we made it through sans compression/limiting/eq.

I set everything up this morning and still nothing. I did a soft reset (holding down the utility button while restarting) and it all came back!?

WTF over? anyone else experienced this? At least I now know one trouble shooting tool.