Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA General Discussion
Options

Overall system questions for rock band

fireryanfireryan Posts: 47
edited January 2008 in PA General Discussion
First off I would like to say thank you to those responsible for the DR PA. I have little experience and limited knowledge with Sound rienforcement and this little guy has made my life a lot easier. I have used the drive rack PA at several gigs and the sound has improved. However when I try to push the levels up at larger venues crackling becomes audible and the sound quality goes out the window. I always follow the wizard set up as it illistrated and set the pink noise to around between -5db to 0db. No clipping or close to clipping at anytime during setup or performances.
My system is as follows:
Mackie 1604-VLZ3 (16 channel mixer)
dbx 266XL Compressor/Gate (set at around 2 : 1 ratio for the overall mix)
BBE 482i Sonic Maximizer
Drive Rack PA
2 Crown xti 4000 ( 1 for Lows 1 for hi's ) placed @ 78% capacity
(LOWS) B-52 LX-18 V2 18\" 1000W Folded Horn Subwoofer
(HI's/Mids) Yamaha S215V Dual 15\" Club Series V

The sound when we play low is great. I don't know if its the settings or that I am asking too much from the highs/mids (yamahas). I'm not sure on the applications for separting the mids. So I need to know:

Do I upgrade to better, higher wattage speakers (i.e. Peavy QW 4F)
,or do I keep the yamahas and get separate drivers for the mids?

Comments

• Options
    kpippenkpippen Posts: 551
    Hello fireryan,

A crackling sound could be a result of several different things so I would start with the following: