Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series Configuration Wizard

Gain structure question

rickrockrickrock Posts: 27
Posted the following at the Lab, and first response was a poster telling me to shout out to Gadget in this forum. The link is here to read the thread:

http://srforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/30974/0/.

I know I'm not a pro at this, but I'm trainable. I felt like my post there died because the guru's deemed me hopeless. Any help would be appreciated. The last post of mine in the link is the one that I need answered.

Any help?

much obliged
rickrock

Comments

• DraDra Posts: 3,777
    I tri amp now, all set at 1.4v, all fed through the same 260 dsp, so that would suggest the same gain structure across all three frequency bands.
    That would assume that all the amps were perfectly matched to the drivers efficiencies and output requirements, and there is no such thing, since frequency bands require different headroom levels. That is why we always recommend manually setting gains and then tuning by ear. There is a good walkthough of this proccess in the READ ME FIRST section. Kevin, Gadget, and I all contributed to this document.
    I also am eager to hear Gadget's answer.

DRA
  • You must mean the long one about setting up gain structure, downloading the pink noise sample etc. (at least I think I found what you referred me to). Excellent help. Doesn't quite get to the question though.

I also have only now begun to figure out how the GUI software works. I have it on this computer, but I need to get my computer to see the 260, which it doesn't yet. I put in all the parameters in the wizard in the software, and voila! same thing, all the CX gains were set down around -11 or -15 db. The jbl publication shows for me +4.3 on the subs, 0 for the mids and -10 for the horns.