Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series General Discussion
Options

System setup with various amps, cabs, etc. (PAS, JBL, Crown)

ackerboneackerbone Posts: 6
First, let me send out a big thanks to Dra & Gadget!

My history: I'm an audio post engineer by day, a musician by \"night\" and a sound engineer by \"default\"! Essentially, I co-produce a couple of touring shows (Buddy Holly & Beatles tributes)...since I'm an audio guy by day, I've ended up getting more involved in the live sound aspect of our shows.

Our Equipment:
DriveRack PA
DBX reference mic
(4) PAS RS1's - tops
(2) JBL MX518S - subs
(2) Crown XLS 602
(2) Crown XLS 802

My research/background: I've read (and actually copy & pasted to create my own document for reference) many of the posts here, all of the manuals, and have used the DriveRack for a few months now. I have a good understanding of how it all \"works\", but would like a little more guidance in order to really get the system \"humming\". I'm afraid I am just missing a few things, maybe not using my equipment to it's optimal, etc.

My Goal: I absolutely love the PAS RS1 \"tops\" and would like to get the MF218 subs to compliment, but we all know how budgets go...one thing at a time. All of that aside, could anyone assist with say...

1. What amps should I use where?
2. Crossover points?
3. An \"order\" of doing things...I seem to find everything in various places on this post and just want to be sure I'm doing it all in the right order (crossover, gain structure, Auto EQ...I've been reading alot here about getting a \"flat\" system first and will do that)

I guess to simplify...I have a good understanding and appreciation of \"technical/geeky\" things, but I think I'm missing some things to really get my system kickin' the way it's supposed to. Im willing to read and do what I can to utilize my gear to it's utmost.

Chris

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915