Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series General Discussion
Options

Output and gain structure

rschultzrschultz Posts: 50
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the DR260. The gain structure on my GL2400 mixer is set properly, but I'm not sure if the 260 is set right. The speaker volume seems very soft compared to when I go directly from the mixer to the speakers without the 260. Should Unity on the main outs of the board be unity on the 260 out?
My setup: I used the GUI Wizard to set up a simple 2x2, nothing fancy, EQ off at this point. My speakers are powered, so at this point their gain is at unity (12 o'clock).
When I try to push the volume on the board much above unity, the speakers pop. The speakers are Yorkville U15P's, which are very powerful speakers especially for the room we are in. But going through the 260, I just can't get much volume.
Any ideas?

Ryan

Comments

• Options
    Also, possibly related:
    I tried Gadget's indoor EQ method. The 260 kept trying to push the volume, all the bars were above unity by the end.
    And, for some reason, after I aborted out of it, I couldn't turn of the pink noise. I tried everything. Ended up Replacing the program with a new one... only way I could get the pink noise to go away.
  • Options
    DennisDennis Posts: 801
    Did you try the \"indoor EQ method\" before or after you determined the speaker volume seemed \"soft\"?

On page 64 of my 260 manual is instructions for \"factory reset\". Since you have no real programs built up yet, there is no downside to giving it a shot and starting over again.

Dennis
  • Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    You know, I wondered if this might be an issue at some point.. I am wondering if when you used the wizard you didn't choose the DEFAULT JBL speakers they have in the wizard as \"presets\"... Some of the JBL speakers have a -8db xover gain for some of the tops and even more cut for the subs...