Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

Gain structure thread

DraDra Posts: 3,777
Just saw this on Harmony Central forum.

i have been running sound for local country band for the last 3 years and i have come across a problem that i am clipping my amp ,it is a peavey 2000 older one running in stereo to 2 peavey 115s on the top and 2 peavey 18 subs.

i only run amp at 50% on rear and can only get about half on mains before it goes to full clip

turn the amps up. The knob does not control how much the amp puts out. It controls the input. Did the horns blow because you were running the system into clipping for most of the gig? Or was there another reason for it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dboomer Just for starters ... you should turn down the power amps by at least 10 dB and then turn up the mixer. You will need to get your gain structure under control ... I'm guessing that it isn't.
Oh no Don... at this point this is the last thing he should do IMO.
This puts the OP closer to overdriving the rest of the signal chain. Assuming there is an unbalanced piece of signal processing (realistic assumption) the maximum drive level available is roughly +18dB, and turning the amp down 10dB from +4dB means that he will need at least +14dB to achieve the limit point of the DDT assuming no eq changes from flat. So by the time he clips his drive electronics, he will be AT MOST 4dB into limit and then a clipped signal is sent onto the speakers at full power... hardly what the designers of amps intended by the inclusion of limiting circuits on their products.

Let me clue you in on an HC thing, dboomer and agedhorse have differing ideas about gain structure between mixer/x-over/amps. I fall in on agedhorse's view of amps run wide open and using gain structure based around that

Can you get to unity on channel inputs with the amps at 100%? I can't.

DRA

Comments

• Options
    DennisDennis Posts: 801