Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Configuration Wizard
Options

Lack of volume after using set up wizard

bttaylormadebttaylormade Posts: 8
edited April 2010 in PA Configuration Wizard
Hi,
I've been using a Drive rack PX for a couple of years now, usually with pretty good results.
However, I do find that I am having to push the main faders on the desk much higher than usual,after I set up using the Drive Rack 'Wizard' program.

I use ;
Allen & Heath - Mix Wizard Desk
2 x Mackie 450's
&
2 x Mackie 1501's

I can only achieve the levels I want with the output meters on the desk meters registering around +6 to +9.

Before using the Drive Rack , I had a Behringer Ultra Curve and did not have to drive the desk so hard to get the level that I wanted.

All ideas welcome.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    What settings are the driverack "xover gain" (expressed in dB on the lower right corner of the screen when in the xover section) What are you using for your speakers/amps in the setup wizard?

You could easily go in and increase the gain of the crossover stage to get the desired mixer level...BUT a gain structure is the best way to do this:
    viewtopic.php?f=61&t=959
    Gadget
  • Options
    Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I am using a Drive rack PX, not the PA variant, which I think is more 'pre-set' driven than the 'PA' variant.

When I use the 'Wizard', it asks for the make of the powered speakers that are being used and it then sets up cross-overs etc from the pre-set automatically but as far as I can see does not offer any options regards crossover gain.
    The only 'gains' that I have found are in the 'compressor' menu.
    If I am missing something, please tell me where to look in the menu's