Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Configuration Wizard
Options

Help For a Struggling Newbie!

LousyvikingLousyviking Posts: 7
edited May 2010 in PA Configuration Wizard
I am a brand spanking newbie to the DRPA+ and a bit of a novice to EQs in general. I have visited the "READ ME FIRST BEFORE POSTING" and I have read the entire "Start Here" thread, but I am still flummoxed. I have the DRPA+ and the dbx RTA mic. I am running a board with two passive front of house (no subs) and two passive monitors, each with an individual mix. I am running only my house speakers through the PA+ in order to preserve the separate mix in the monitors. Here is my setup:

Mixer- Behringer Xenyx 2442FX
Amps- QSC PLX1804 - House
QSC PLX1804 - Monitors
House Spkrs- Yamaha CM12V (Pair)
Monitors- Wharfedale SVP-12M - Mon 1
Wharfedale SVP-12PM - Mon 2
Mics- Shure SM58

We are a 6 piece band (2 guitars, bass, drums, keys and sax) and the system gets moved from venue to venue (some indoor and some out), often with limitied time to set up and sound check. Having read many of the posts, I still haven't the vaguest notion what to do with the RTA (understanding that auto EQ on the fly is not an option). Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    Perhaps this thread will help?
    Let us know..
    Gadget
  • Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    ?? Thread ??

DRA
  • Options
    Gadget-

Did you mean to post a link to a thread? There is nothing there.
  • Options
    I did read that entire section, plus all of the links, but I will try again. In the meantime, maybe you can answer a question about setting the gain structure. When you say to "run pink noise through a channel," do you mean D.I. or through a mic? Also, whether D.I. or through a mic, how do you choose the level? Thanks again.
  • Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777