Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

So is RTA not good anymore?

AirtonPSAirtonPS Posts: 14
Hi, I am a brazilian drummer and I getting deep into this sound stuff. I've been learning on how to avoid feedback, best places to position the PA... I read the FAQ about the auto EQ and now I am afraid of getting a Driverack 260 for my band's shows (I am the drummer and the Sound Engineer). It looks like RTA autoEQ is just wrong and I should buy the Smaart software. I want to be able to put the PA up on various venus and flat it according to the room's caractheristics (EQ the system, not the room!). What I need to do it? I have recently seen Rush's backstage secrets and on the 4th part they tune the PA. Which method is that?

Thank you

Comments

• Options
    DennisDennis Posts: 801
    SMAART software does not replace a processor like the DR260....it is used to determine the correct settings. You will get better results with a program like SMAART than you will with auto EQ but the program is about $900 and training is about $600. It's a steep learning curve and you won't figure it out on your own.

Dennis
  • Options
    Thanks, I had no idea Smaart was so hard to learn.
  • Options
    AirtonPS wrote:
    Thanks, I had no idea Smaart was so hard to learn.
    It's well worth the effort...it just depends how serious you are about taking things to the next level.

Dennis
  • Options
    I am really serious, but I don't think my band is at this level yet. As I said, I just want to flat the PA to properly tune it on each venue we play.
  • Options
    AirtonPS wrote:
    I am really serious, but I don't think my band is at this level yet. As I said, I just want to flat the PA to properly tune it on each venue we play.