Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

286A problems, hum, clipping

celtics23celtics23 Posts: 7
Hello,

I've had several years of experience using an EV RE20 paired with a 286a at an old audio facility where I've been doing voiceover. In building a new facility that is now coming together, I purchased several 286a's to pair with RE20's, since I always liked the results.

I'm having some issues with both hum and clipping that are not similar to anything I experience in the previous setup with the same equipment. The currently signal flow is RE20=>XLR cable=>286A=>1/4" to XLR cable=>ARC-8 Arrakis mixer input. I am monitoring the sound through the mixer's headphone out.

First and foremost, there is an audible hum in the headphones that seems a bit loud relative to the level of the voice. How might I explore eliminating this? With such simple cabling and connections, I'm not sure what can be done.

Secondly, even when setting the preamp to a good level, adjusting other settings, including compression on the mixer, can create clipping. I haven't experience this before...is it a suggestion that the preamp is too high? If i move it down, then the signal becomes almost too low to be audible when adjusting compression settings again.

Any suggestions would be appreciated, I have already gone through the 286a "setup guide" that dbx provides.

Comments

• Options
    I should also add:

With all processor settings set to off and output at 0db, the hissing is worse when process bypass is NOT pushed in/turned on.

Also, when going through the startup guide, even turning the preamp gain past +15 creates incredible clipping...in the past, i've had this setting somewhere between +30 and +40. I have no idea why the mic level is coming in so hot, but i see no way to reduce it to get a better "starting point" for the signal level.