Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA General Discussion
Options

JBL MRX Help, New with Driverack PA+

michaelcintermichaelcinter Posts: 0
edited September 2014 in PA General Discussion
Hey everyone,

Im new to using a DBX Driverack Plus. I've always been a man with traditional eq, gates and crossovers and this is definately new to me.

Im getting back into sound, and i've recently purchased the following equipment.

2- MRX 525 Full Range Loudspeakers
1- MRX 528s Subwoofer
1- QSC RMX 2450HD (Bridged to run sub, mono)
1- QSC RMX 4050 (Stereo Mains)
1- DBX Driverack Plus w/ RTA Mic

I read the manual and followed the setup wizard. Used the RTA Mic, and ran the auto eq.

The Mains hit very well, But i could never could get sub to do much. The dbx driverack kept turning down the sub, and turning up the mains during Auto EQ. I noticed it moreso in the crossover.
I "experimented' with it for about 2 hours yesterday, and i even took the sub back to guitar center today to check and make sure it was working correctly. I had to do alot of manual eqing to get the sub to sound... "ok". But felt like i was missing something. And it certainly didn't hit like it did at the store.

Bottom line, the overall output level for the mains was significantly higher than the subs, physically seen on the driverack front panel meters, and noticed throughout the eq/crossover.

Im very confused at this point. Isn't the point of the RTA to auto adjust the levels so that the sound is perfect? Why would i have to go back into the crossover and adjust the db gain? What was i doing wrong with the sub?

Any help will be much appreciated! Thanks

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    Welcome...
    Had you spent an extra second looking at the opening screen you might have noticed it says:
    READ ME FIRST BEFORE POSTING