Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

Is it worth it all?

dowensdowens Posts: 3
I'm in a cover band that playes small to medium houses, anything bigger we hire sound. I've been contemplating buying a DRPA+ for several months to improve sound and simplify our system, also a gift to our sound guy who does an awesome job. After reading the board here for about a month it sounds like the 260 may be the better choice. But quite frankly, these postings have scared the hell out of me with both. My original thought was the driverack would help simplify our setup but I'm not sure that is the case, alot of the posts sound like nightmares. We typically don't have alot of time for setup, so the auto wizards appealed to me and seemed to be a great solution to acheiving high end sound in a small amount of time. Here is our system:

4-Crown XLS 802D Amps
2-JBL JRX 125s
2-Peavy SP118s
4-Peavy PV12 Monitors

We run Mono signal from the board through 32 band EQ, crossover and sonic maximizer. Highs to one 802 in stereo to the 125's.
Lows to one each 802 in mono-bridged to each 118
Run our monitor mix (single mix) from board to 32 band EQ and sonic maximizer to the remaining 802 in stereo and run two PV12's off each side. The crossover does have a few limiters but not sure they really are providing much protection.

Please don't flame me for not knowing the brands of our board, crossover (although I think it's a behringer) or EQ. And Gadget I know from reading the board you don't care for the JBL low end stuff and I'm sure the low end Crowns won't set well either :D but believe it or not the sound we get out of this stuff is pretty good. We play out every other weekend at various places with some wicked accoustical challenges. So helping us tame some of these places would be cool, but again we usually don't have a great deal of time.