Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA General Discussion
Options

DRPA+ and Crown XTi's Overkill? or Over my head?

rickrideoutrickrideout Posts: 15
edited March 2011 in PA General Discussion
Question, I'm using Crown XTi's with a PA+, I've read most everything you've posted about EQing a room and RTA mic's. ( some of it I comprehended ) But I find it much easier to control my system using the EQ in Band Master. So should I do a Flat EQ outside to get a good flat EQ or just turn the EQ and PEQ off on the PA+? Or should I just remove the PA+ completely from the system and do it all through the XTi?

I'm running a new tri amped system (2 weeks old) with

DRPA+, w/RTA mic
XTi 1000 on highs,
XTi 6000 on mid's and
XTi 6000 on subs with
JBL VRX 932 (1 per side) and
JBL VRX 918 (1 per side).

More info if you need it below.

I've been DJing for 4 years for a couple of dance clubs here in town. ( Ballroom and Swing clubs ) My other system is JBL PRX 515 (2 per side) and PRX 518's (1 per side). I'm using Virtual DJ and a dual CD player into a Numark C3USB Mixer then to a BBE 882i sonic maximizer (yes, I know what you think about it) then to the JBL's. Its always done a good job and I pretty much setup and play with no sound issues.

I got reading about the DRPA+ and tri amping and I thought I'd build another system based on the PA+ that would really sound great. So I built the new system I listed above. I'm still using Virtual DJ and the USB mixer but took the sonic maximizer out and replaced it with the DRPA+. I left the Crowns with DSP off and I let the DRPA+ do all the speaker tunings and GEQ and PEQ using the wizard.