Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion

"Y" mic cables

luissluiss Posts: 35
I just got back from a gig involving a student orchestra. I had massive problems getting enough gain from the string section to be suitably audible during the the pp sections. We had 2 mics on each section...Violins, Violas & Cellos. The rest of the orchestra (woodwinds, brass & percussion) was fine.

We started out with the mics set as AB overheads, but got next to no level. We then lowered them down as close as practical to the stronger members of the sections.

I got through the gig reasonably well as long as I was given decent level from stage. Spelt the whole time on a knife edge, just below feedback.

In total I had 16 open mics on stage, all cranked.

The guy that owns the gear wanted me to use some "mic combiner leads" (2 x XLR F to 1 x XLR M). I said no, we should be fine without them..

I have never used these leads before and am not sure they are a good idea. What is the resulting output impedance of the combined mics and what impact will that have on driving the pre's on the desk?

I honestly don't think more mics would have helped, I was just not getting enough level into the mics I had.

Full size orchestra & a 16 channel Spirit desk + operator who has never done an orchestra before........ we did all right....

Comments

• GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    No, 'Y' combiners would likely have exacerbated the problem through further cancellations. It's really early here and my mind isn't fully active yet, but you could have fallen prey to mic proximity cancellations. When micing with multiple microphones, spacing of the mics can actually cause problems.

That's why when 2 mics are used in proximity you often find them in X/Y configurations, MS configs and other near coincident pairs instead of open faced spaced mics.

What mics were used? The pickup pattern can exacerbate proximity issues...