Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack 200 Series 200 Series General Discussion

Need help setting up 260 with EAW LA325 Bi-amped and 400's

BTproductionsBTproductions Posts: 86
Hi all I recently acquired these speakers and now need to get a few things straight before I run them. I've done all the reading I've found on these and talked briefly with EAW's ASG. I'm new to runnig pro audio but have been into audio esp higher end home audio for well over a decade so I can speak the lingo and am familiar with most of it but not nessisarily had any real world experience with all of it.

I'll start off with how I intend to power everything. After reading all about EAW and how they reccomend 1.5 - 2x power with 6db headroom and reading these 325's having their crossovers fried at 600w I talked to ASG and I'm told even when Bi-amping give the mid/hi's 600-800w and the low's 1000-1200w. He said this is there only speaker that's the exception to their rule. I've been looking at Crown Xti2 series and have been told crown rates these amps EIA so here's what I'm thinking. Crown xti2002 mid/hi's Crown xti4002 lows and another 4002 bridged into 4ohms for the 2 LA400 sub cabinets. He said those 400 cabinets can take 1200-1600w each even though rated for only 500w.

So now im at a bit of a conundrum when it comes to setting up gain structures. I have tops which I'm going to amp with some headroom left and be very careful not to let them get to much and subs which I'll have ample headroom and can setup with +6db headroom like explained in "the read this first" topic. While I'll need to read that topic again and it's gonna take me some time stepping through it the first time. I do understand it and what the goal is so how differently do I go about it when I'm powered this closely to matching handling power?

Gadget I read the topic where you have some processor pre-sets that work exceptionally well! I'll be needing a copy of those Please!